Home > General Knowledge, Temple > 124/365 – Ashtalakshmi

124/365 – Ashtalakshmi

Ashta Lakshmi, also spelled as Ashtalakshmi, are a group of eight Hindu goddesses, secondary manifestations of Shri-Lakshmi, the Hindu goddess of wealth, who preside over eight sources of wealth: “Wealth” in the context of Ashta-Lakshmi means prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power. The Ashta Lakshmi are always depicted and worshipped in a group in temples.


Adi Lakshm
Dhana Lakshmi
Dhanya Lakshmi
Gaja Lakshmi
Santana Lakshmi
Veera Lakshmi
Vijaya Lakshmi
Vidya Lakshmi

Ashtalakshmi Kovil

The Ashtalakshmi Kovil lies on the shorelines near the Elliot’s beach, in Chennai, India. It is a temple to the Goddess Lakshmi. Ashta means eight, and the eight forms of Lakshmi are worshipped in this temple. Lakshmi is the consort of Lord Vishnu.

In this temple the eight lakshmi’s are present in four levels. The shrine of Mahalakshmi & Mahavishnu is in level two. One starts the worship from here.

One can take the stairs and the path leads to third floor which has the shrrines of Santhana lakshmi, Vijaya lakshmi, Vidya lakshmi and Gajalakshmi.

Then again take a few steps and we reach the shrrine of DhanaLakshmi which is the only shrrine on the fourth floor. Exiting the main shrine, in the first level, there are Aadilakshmi, Dhaanya lakshmi and Dharyalakshmi.


Categories: General Knowledge, Temple
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: